top of page
Search

The Merchant's Daughter

Updated: Aug 16, 2021

MELANIE DICKERSON

Age Range: 12 and up

The Merchant's Daughter is a delightful book based on the well-known fairy tale of Beauty and the Beast. Annabelle was once a wealthy Merchant's daughter, but now she and her family are poor and have been doing nothing to help their town. Now that there is a new Lord of the town, her family must either get punishment or give service. Since Annabelle's family is lazy and mean, Annabelle is forced to give herself over to the new Lord and be a servant to him to save her family. She wouldn't mind that much to be a servant and away from her family if Lord Ranulf wasn't a loud, mean, and revolting man. As time goes on in her new home, she is placed in a situation that could put herself, her friend, and the Lord in danger.


Growing up, Beauty and the Beast was my favorite fairy tale by far, so I was delighted when Melanie Dickerson came out with The Merchant's Daughter. Doing a story retelling is hard, but I think Mrs. Dickinson did an excellent job on this book. The only characters that I did not like were Annabelle's family. They will also mean to her and ready to give her up so they could have a better life. Overall I thought this was a fantastic story.


Things to mention: There is some violence and kissing details.


Click here to buy!


More books in the Hagenheim series:

More books by this author:

Medieval Fairy Tale Romance Series:

The Dericott Tales:

 

If you have read this book, let me know in the comments below. I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you have a book you want to be reviewed? Let me know, and I'll add it to my list! Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you're here.

Subscibe!

Thanks for submitting!

Do you like A Catholic Girl Reads? Subscribe to receive an email once every three weeks on my newest clean books, series, and lists!

Featured Posts:
bottom of page