top of page
Search

An Old-Fashioned Girl

Updated: Dec 24, 2022

LOUISA MAY ALCOTT

Age Range: 11 and up

Reading Level: Middle School + High School

This is a beautiful story by the acclaimed author Louisa May Alcott. An Old-Fashioned Girl is about 14-year-old girl Polly Milton who goes to live with her wealthy cousins in the city for a month. While she's there, Polly realizes that she is quite old-fashioned, but she doesn't mind very much. The original book of An Old-Fashioned Girl was only six chapters long, but Louisa May Alcott's fans begged for a sequel after reading this charming little story. Hence, Miss Alcott added on a second-half to the book about six years later. Now that Polly is 20, she goes to work in the city and finds that being old fashioned is becoming harder and harder, especially since her friends do nothing but party while she has to work, but she keeps moving forward no matter what.


Once I thought that there were no more good books to read, I whined, so my dad got me An Old-Fashioned Girl. Of course, I didn't want to read it because classics are "so boring," but I read it anyway, and now I am so glad that my dad bought it for me. It was a little hard to understand the old fashioned way of writing, but the story is excellent once you get into it. I think Polly is a perfect role model for all of the other characters in the book and everyone now. She tried to be always kind and do the little things, and I strive to be more like her. Even if you don't like classics, I think you should give An Old-Fashioned Girl a try.


Things to mention: Nothing.


Click here to buy!


More books by Louisa May Alcott:

Eight Cousins Series:

 

If you have read An Old-Fashioned Girl, let me know in the comments below. I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you have a book you want to be reviewed? Let me know, and I'll add it to my list! Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you're here.

Subscibe!

Thanks for submitting!

Do you like A Catholic Girl Reads? Subscribe to receive an email once every three weeks on my newest clean books, series, and lists!

Featured Posts:
bottom of page