top of page
Search

Five Little Peppers Grown Up

Updated: Nov 18, 2021

MARGARET SIDNEY

Age Range: 11 and up

Five years after the adventures in Five Little Peppers Midway, the Pepper children have grown up with Ben being in his early 20s to Phonsie being 13. The story mainly follows Polly and her world of piano teaching, friends, and romance. Ben works for a company, Joel and Davie are at college, and Phronsie runs an orphanage for poor children with her money from Mrs. Chatterton. Polly works hard at her job as a piano teacher, but her friends disapprove, and her suitors start to overwell sweet Polly. All of the men that want to win Polly's heart come to Jasper one at a time for help with her. Jasper has trouble when his father starts to intercede in his job life and make decisions for Jasper. Polly is surrounded by people telling her what she should do, but what would happen if she makes her own decisions and does what makes her happy?

Five Little Peppers Grown Up is my favorite book in the Five Little Peppers series, though the ending could have been a bit better concerning how Polly was asked to be married. This novel was surprisingly a lot like An Old Fashioned Girl (click here for the review). Both of the main characters are named Polly and are music teachers who need the money and have friends that disapprove. There are other similarities to both books, but I don't want to spoil anything. At some points in the book, I could not put it down because it was so exciting. All of the characters turned out how I thought they would, except for Joel. He used to be kind of mean and always wanting to show he could win any fight, but in Five Little Peppers Grown Up, he is a good teen who goes to extra Christian services. When the Five Little Peppers series was published, Five Little Peppers Grown Up was the third book in this series, but after this four-book series was finished, the public wanted more, so the author made a few more. So if you want to read this book series chronologically, then you should read it in this order: Five Little Peppers and How They Grew, Five Little Peppers Midway, Five Little Peppers Abroad, Five Little Peppers and Their Friends, Five Little Peppers Grown Up, and then Five Little Peppers: Phronsie Pepper. I didn't read the other books, and I don't think I will, but they are all good wholesome books. I hope you all love this series!

Things to mention: There is some violence.


Click here to buy!


Five Little Peppers Series:

 

If you have read Five Little Peppers Grown Up, let me know in the comments below. I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you have a book you want to be reviewed? Let me know, and I'll add it to my list! Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you're here.

Subscibe!

Thanks for submitting!

Do you like A Catholic Girl Reads? Subscribe to receive an email once every three weeks on my newest clean books, series, and lists!

Featured Posts:
bottom of page