top of page
Search

Rifles for Watie

Updated: Nov 18, 2021

HAROLD KEITH

Age Range: 11 and up

Rifles for Watie follows the exciting story of Jeff Bussey, from the age of sixteen to twenty. After another attack against his family, Jeff finally convinces his parents to join the Union army and set off with his two friends. Jeff had never wanted anything more than to fight for his county, but something was always holding him back from battle, be it kind officers or just being in the wrong place at the wrong time. Finally, he gets to experience the excitement of fighting, but then he meets a rebel girl. Jeff had never met anyone like her, but the only problem is she is with the confederates, and Jeff is with the Union. Then Jeff becomes a Union spy by chance and realizes that the rebels are not too bad, but what would happen if they found him out?


So Rifles for Watie is not the kind of book I would typically read, much less review, but I had to read it for school and loved it. The author knows how to tell a story that engages the audience. It took me about a week to finish the whole book because I have been swamped, but my brother finished it in a day. It was that good. I find war books pretty dull, but Rifles for Watie was not just about fighting, and it even had a bit of romance. I recommend Rifles for Watie for all ages, both girls and boys. I hope you love this book as much as I did!


Things to mention: A few minor bad words and some fighting and killing.


Click here to buy!

 

If you have read Rifles for Watie, let me know in the comments below. I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you have a book you want to be reviewed? Let me know, and I'll add it to my list! Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you're here.

Subscibe!

Thanks for submitting!

Do you like A Catholic Girl Reads? Subscribe to receive an email once every three weeks on my newest clean books, series, and lists!

Featured Posts:
bottom of page