top of page
Search

Stars Above

Updated: Jun 25, 2021

MARRISA MEYER

Age Range: 13/14 and up

Stars Above has nine stories about our heroes in the Lunar Chronicles. We learn about their pasts and, at the end of the book, their futures. In the first story, we know a little bit about Scarlet and how Princess Celine came to be in the care of Michelle Benoit. Next, we hear the plague playing out, and Cinder first comes to live in New Beijing. In The Queen's Army, Wolf is taken away from his family and becomes a soldier for Queen Levana. Carswell's Guide to Being Lucky is about 13-year-old Thone, who would do whatever it takes to get a Rampion and leave Los Angeles forever. In Lunar, we learn how Cress leaves Lunar to live on a spaceship and spy on Earth. In the Princess and the Guard, we see how Winter and Jacin fall in love and how Winter decides to make a life-altering decision. The seventh story, The Little Android, is a Little Mermaid retelling about an android who falls in love with a human and needs Cinder's help. Next, we see Cinder's and Kai's first meeting from Kai's point of view. The last story, Something Old, Something New, is an epilogue to Winter where Cinder and her friends gather for a wedding.


I feel like Stars Above is essential in reading the Lunar Chronicles. Not only do we find out about the characters' past, but Marissa Meyer also tells us a little bit about their future. Learning about their history taught me about characters and why they did what they did in these books. And in the last story, I was dying with excitement and happiness for the couple that got married. Even though I loved this book, I made the age range 13/14 because there is one part at the beginning and end of the book that is questionable. I thought that Stars Above should be for mature 13-year-olds and up. I try to have only pure and good books on my blog, so there's nothing on here that I thought was bad enough not to read.


Things to mention: Some minor violence. In the first chapter, we find out where Michelle Benoit, Scarlets grandmother, "first made love". There is only one sentence about this in the book. And in the last chapter, Cinder and Kai are so tired that they fall asleep in the same bed but nothing happens.


Click here to buy!


More books in the Lunar Chronicles:

 

If you have read this book, let me know in the comments below. I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you have a book you want to be reviewed? Let me know, and I'll add it to my list! Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you're here.

Subscibe!

Thanks for submitting!

Do you like A Catholic Girl Reads? Subscribe to receive an email once every three weeks on my newest clean books, series, and lists!

Featured Posts:
bottom of page