top of page
Search

The Fairest Beauty

Updated: May 26, 2021

MELANIE DICKERSON

Age Range: 13 and up

Based on the known story of Snow White, Melanie Dickerson's book is about a daring rescue and a difficult choice. Sophie, a known beauty and servant of the evil queen, will do anything to escape the horrible life she has. The only problem with running is that the queen would never let her and kill Sophie before she got the chance. Just as everything seems hopeless, a stranger comes to rescue her, and she doesn't know if she can trust him, but there doesn't seem to be any other option. Lord Gabe was tired of always being second to his older brother, and when the chance came to beat him, Gabe took it. He would save his older brothers betrothed, who they all thought was dead until recently, but Lady Sophie was being hidden as a servant to her stepmother. As the pair escape to the Cottage of the seven, they realize that running away and getting killed is not the only thing to worry about. They are now also falling in love. They are both already betrothed, but can they break their engagements, or will the queen find them before they can even worry about being married?


The Fairest Beauty is one of my favorite books by Mrs. Dickerson. When I was little, I would obsess over Disney princesses, but I never liked the story of Snow White, so when I was reading this book, I was expecting not to like it, but I was wrong. This story was fascinating, but not a lot of action. In the movie Snow White, I thought the girl was very gullible and meek, but Sophie was not like that. She was very kind, but she was not afraid to stand up to her stepmother. Sophie was also not very susceptible to the queen and her evil deeds, but even when the queen was being evil, Sophie just prayed to God for help and didn't give up on escape. At the beginning of The Fairest Beauty, I thought Gabe was pretty immature, but after meeting Sophie, he starts to change and become more responsible. The only character that I didn’t like was the evil queen. She is so spiteful towards Sophie and wishes her dead just because she is prettier. In all, I think that The Fairest Beauty is a great story.


Things to mention: There is some violence including: people trying to kill Sophie and Gabe, and someone drowning. There are a few kisses with little to no details.


Click here to buy!


More books in the Hagenheim series:

More books by this author:

Medieval Fairy Tale Romance Series:

The Dericott Tales:

 

If you have read The Fairest Beauty, let me know in the comments below. I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you have a book you want to be reviewed? Let me know, and I'll add it to my list! Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you're here.

Subscibe!

Thanks for submitting!

Do you like A Catholic Girl Reads? Subscribe to receive an email once every three weeks on my newest clean books, series, and lists!

Featured Posts:
bottom of page