top of page
Search

A Time to Rise

Updated: May 12, 2022

NADINE BRANDES

Age Range: 13 and up

The Council told the world that Parvin Blackwater was dead, but they were wrong. Pravin survived, but the rest of the world is falling apart. After taking down a part of the wall, the other radicals followed suit and tried to escape to the west side. And once the Enforcers shot down the Radicals, the rest of the world started to take notice, and riots went up in every city. On the mysterious trail that Jude left behind, Parvin and Solomon go to Russia to find the answer to take down the wall forever. While Parvin and Solomon are on a mission to save the people, the Council is doing everything in its power to keep the people contained and is bringing in new technology to do it. Parvin starts to lose hope in ever saving the world from the Council but trusts that God will work through her. Will Parvin be able to bring some peace to the world, or has her whole life been for nothing?


A Time to Rise is the last book in the Out of Times Series, but I wasn’t sad for the story to end, unlike most last books in a series. The other two books were excellent, but the third kind of let me down. There was a big climax that just led to nothing, so the story just ended. I wouldn’t say it was the author’s writing skills because she is a great writer; I think it was how the story ended itself, making me feel like the book was just okay. Parvin’s faith in God is great, and I just love Solomon and Parvin together! At some points in the book, I was sitting at the edge of my seat waiting to see what would happen, and at other times I was ready to cry and laugh at the same time.


There were some characters that I did not like, but the main one was Skelly Chase. Skelly was confusing me the whole book series but even more in A Time to Rise. He was good, then bad, then okay, then evil, and then bad and good at the same time. I do not like books that do not make the bad guys clear because then it just confuses everybody. And it teaches people that bad guys are actually good just doing bad things or good people need to do bad things sometimes. I just don’t like it. If you have read the first two books in this series, you need to read A Time to Rise! It completes the story and tells you what finally happens with all of the characters and the Council.


Things To Mention: People are killed, there’s talk of children being tortured, fights, and other minor violence. There are a few kisses with no detail.


Click here to buy!


Out Of Times Series:


More Books by Nadine Brandes:

Stand Alone Novels:

 

If you have read A Time to Rise, let me know in the comments below. I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you have a book you want to be reviewed? Let me know, and I'll add it to my list! Please share with your friends! Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you're here.

Subscibe!

Thanks for submitting!

Do you like A Catholic Girl Reads? Subscribe to receive an email once every three weeks on my newest clean books, series, and lists!

Featured Posts:
bottom of page