top of page
Search

Secrets: Visible & Invisible

Updated: Aug 20, 2023

CORINNA TURNER, CYNTHIA T. TONEY, THERESA LINDEN, SUSAN PEEK, T.M. GAOUETTE, CAROLYN ASTFALK, LESLEA WAHL

Age Range: 13 and up

Secrets: Visible & Invisible is about seven fantastic Catholic teen anthologies that teach lessons about secrets both hidden and known to people. 1st: Margaret and Bane learn to trust God more on an adventure in a dystopian future. 2nd: When Elijah helps a strange old lady with housework, he expects nothing in return, but when she disappears, Elijah's life changes forever. 3rd: A group of Catholic teens learn about acceptance and noticing the people around them when a strange painting starts to change every day. 4th: Dario begs and prays to God to save his soul after losing his legs in battle and knows he will die and won't go to heaven unless God forgives him. 5th: Jason meets the girl of his dreams, and he is even prepared to grow in his faith if it means she will be with him, but along the way, Jason learns what true faith in God means. 6th: A boy with no license sneaks out and takes his dad's truck to meet a girl, but he learns the importance of genuine honesty by the end of the night. 7th: At a summer camp for troubled kids, a group of teens discovers an old romantic tale with a secret treasure.


Thank you so much Carolyn Astfalk for sending me a complimentary copy of Secrets: Visible & Invisible! I was happy to read and receive this book. My review of this book is entirely my own. When I started Secrets: Visible and Invisible, I didn't know what to expect because I have never read an anthology book before, but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The seven short stories were engaging and interesting; it made me want to read more from those seven authors. This book taught me things about my faith in God, unlike some other Catholic fiction books that are just regular fiction with some Catholic elements.


My three favorite stories from the book are The Unpredictable Virtues Of Rusty Old Bicycles by Corinna Turner (1st), Sister Francesca by T. M. Gaudette (5th), and Behind The Wheel by Carolyn Astfalk (6th). Corinna Turner's short story is about two characters from her book series I Am Margaret that I have actually already read, so it was nice to read another story from that series. Sister Francesca turned out to be different than I thought, but the writing was so good that I had to keep reading until I finished it, and I almost cried by the time I did. And the last one, Behind The Wheel, was fun and gripping with many different emotions. I went from laughing to sympathizing with the characters to doing both at the same time!


The only thing I did not like about the book was the cover. When I saw it, it made me think the book would be mundane, and if I saw it at the library, I probably wouldn't have picked it up, but I am glad I did read it. This book proves that you cannot judge a book by its cover because you might miss out on a fantastic story. If you don't think you would like Secrets: Visible & Invisible, read it anyway, and I think you will be surprised by how engaging and enjoyable it is!


Things To Mention: A boy thinks in his head that he never has a hard time getting a girl to be with him and do what he wants her to do. While a person thinks back on his life, he remembers fighting and being drunk with his friends. There are also some other minor acts of violence. There is a side character whose brother was killed by a gang.


Click here to buy!


Catholic Teen Books Anthologies Series:


More Books by Corinna Turner

I Am Margaret Series:


More books by Theresa Linden:

Liberty Trilogy:


More books by Susan Peek:

Stand Alone Novels:


More books by T. M. Gaouette:

Faith & Kung Fu Series:

Stand Alone Novels:


More Books By Leslea Wahl:

Stand Alone Novels:


Blindside Series:

Finding Faith Series:

 

If you have read Secrets: Visible & Invisible, let me know in the comments below. I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you have a book you want to be reviewed? Let me know, and I'll add it to my list! Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you're here.

Subscibe!

Thanks for submitting!

Do you like A Catholic Girl Reads? Subscribe to receive an email once every three weeks on my newest clean books, series, and lists!

Featured Posts:
bottom of page