top of page
Search

Five Little Peppers and How They Grew

Updated: Feb 7, 2022

MARGARET SIDNEY

Age Range: 8/9 and up

Five Little Peppers and How They Grew is a delightful classic that shows a low-income family and how they make the best things. The five pepper children (Ben, Polly, Joel, Davie, and Phronsie) live with their mother in a little brown house out in the country and try to have happy lives, despite being so poor that they can barely afford flour. Ben goes off to do manual labor, Polly cooks and cleans, and the three youngest do whatever is needed to help their hard-working mother. The Peppers always seem to have a good time in every circumstance and make those around them happy. Then they meet a rich boy and become the greatest of friends. Without knowing it, the Pepper children help him and his family to find joy in life. Taking place over two years, Five Little Peppers and How They Grew entertains people of all ages and is still one of the best books that shows what true love in a family looks like.


After reading some pretty long and profound books, I decided to read something light and fun, and Five Little Peppers and How They Grew was the perfect book! I had so much fun reading it and laughed right along with the characters in the book. While I was reading it, I kept thinking that I would not be as happy as them if I were in their situation if I had to do what they had to do. They made everything seem like the best thing in the world and were making me feel guilty for everything that we have nowadays that we take for granted. I would definitely recommend this book for all ages because it is so much fun and is a light read to break apart the deep long books!


Things to mention: nothing.

Click here to buy!


Five Little Peppers Series:

 

If you have read Five Little Peppers and How They Grew, let me know in the comments below. I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you have a book you want to be reviewed? Let me know, and I'll add it to my list! Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you're here.

Subscibe!

Thanks for submitting!

Do you like A Catholic Girl Reads? Subscribe to receive an email once every three weeks on my newest clean books, series, and lists!

Featured Posts:
bottom of page